The Merseyside and Cheshire Commonwealth Association helps form effective regional and national bilateral links between government, business, civil society, people and the educational communities of the Commonwealth. We are a member of the Royal Commonwealth Society and was launched on March 12, 2018, Commonwealth Day, by Prince Edward, the Earl of Wessex.

In his speech the Earl of Wessex read out the following speech from Her Majesty, The Queen:

“Please convey my warm wishes to the members of the former Liverpool Commonwealth Association on the occasion of today’s launch of the Merseyside and Cheshire Commonwealth Association.

I was interested to learn that the Association will work to develop relationships between diaspora communities across Merseyside and Cheshire.

I send my good wishes to you all for a most successful event and an enjoyable Commonwealth Day.

Elizabeth R”

The Association first started in 2015 as the Liverpool Commonwealth Association (launched by Lord Alton) but expanded in 2018 to incorporate the region of Cheshire, thus forming the first ever combined Merseyside and Cheshire Commonwealth Association. The Trustees have submitted an application to register the organisation as a registered charity and this is in the process of being considered by the Charities Commission.

We represent the interests of those living in the Merseyside and Cheshire Regions from a commonwealth background.

All our work will have at its core the promotion of the following Commonwealth values:

1. democracy;
2. human rights;
3. peace and security;
4. tolerance, respect and understanding;
5. freedom of expression;
6. separation of powers;
7. rule of law;
8. good governance;
9. sustainable development;
10. environmental protection;
11. access to health, education, food and shelter;
12. gender equality; and
13. the importance of young people and civil society.

Fifty-three countries are members of the Commonwealth with 2.2 billion citizens of which 60% are under 30 years old. Countries span Africa, Asia, the Americas, Europe and the Pacific and are diverse – they are amongst the world’s largest, smallest, richest and poorest countries. Thirty-one of our members are classified as small states – countries with a population size of 1.5 million people or less and larger member states that share similar characteristics with them. All members subscribe to the Commonwealth’s values and principles outlined in The Commonwealth Charter. Leaders of member countries shape Commonwealth policies and priorities. Every two years, they meet to discuss issues affecting the Commonwealth and the wider world at the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM). All members have an equal say – regardless of size or economic stature. This ensures even the smallest member countries have a voice in shaping the Commonwealth.

Countries by region:


Botswana, Cameroon, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, the Gambia.


Bangladesh, Brunei Darussalam, India, Malaysia, Maldives, Pakistan, Singapore, Sri Lanka.

Caribbean and Americas

Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Canada, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Saint Lucia, St Kitts and Nevis, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago


Cyprus, Malta, United Kingdom


Australia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu

Get in Touch

Find us at the office

c/o Dallas Legal

78 Rodney Street


L1 9AR

Contact Us